PSA: It's municipal election season. Here's how to vote

Spooky season is upon us and so are municipal elections — which are just as spooky and scary sometimes. Between work, life and school, staying up to date during elections can get overwhelming. Here’s a brief overview of the municipal elections this Saturday. 

Although it might seem like the municipal government does not hold as much decision-making power as the provincial and federal levels, municipal government responsibilities include regulating law enforcement, community services and land use planning. Vancouver City Council also collaborates with other levels of government on issues like the toxic drug crisis and transit. This election is one way to make sure your voice is heard.

But who are you voting for exactly? Within the University Endowment Lands (UEL), you can vote for an Electoral Area Director, which is an elected representative appointed at the regional level, as well as nine School Board Trustees, who are in charge of overseeing elementary and secondary educational facilities in Vancouver and the UEL. The UEL falls under Electoral Area A.

Voting locations for the Electoral Area A District are in the AMS Nest and at University Hill Secondary. 

If you are a Vancouver resident outside of the UEL and UBC, you can vote for one mayor, ten city council members, seven park board commissioners and nine school trustees. You can also vote on supporting three major capital plan projects involving transportation, community development and parks, civic land use planning and climate crisis.

You are eligible to vote if you are 18 years of age or older, a Canadian citizen and a resident of that electoral district. If you’re eligible to vote, Vancouver Votes is a helpful tool to help plan which candidates to vote for, where to vote and how to vote.

Voters who aren’t registered can do so on election day by bringing two pieces of ID which prove their residence, like a driver’s license and BC Services Card. If you are registered, you should bring the Voter Information Card mailed to you to vote. 

Voting opens on Saturday, October 15 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.