The Ubyssey takes home nine national student journalism awards

The Ubyssey won nine national student journalism awards last weekend at the John H. McDonald Awards for Excellence in Student Journalism in Hamilton, ON.

After receiving 16 nominations, Ubyssey staff won 6 awards for specific articles, The Ubyssey as a whole won Student Publication of the Year and two of our editors won recognition awards for their contributions to student journalism in Canada. We are so grateful to the Canadian University Press for this recognition.

Arts & Culture Writing Award

Jasmine Cadeliña Manango, “To all the stories I haven’t told yet: Finding my voice as a Filipina scholar”

Humour Award

Tova Gaster, “The Dingbat: Buchanan B can’t fool me — that’s a pole, not a French tutor

Disability Reporting Award

Charlotte Alden, “BC’s autism assessment process is slow and expensive. For students seeking accommodations, that’s a problem

Feature Writing Award (Over $75k)

Carter Dungate, “Student defenders of Fairy Creek

Investigative Reporting Award (Over $75k)

Nathan Bawaan, “Over $19 million of UBC’s endowment invested in companies tied to Uyghur genocide

Prize for Digital Storytelling

Diana Hong, Nathan Bawaan, Marieta-rita Ose Osezua, Alex Fuster; “UBC students take part in Sprouts-organized walkout

Student Journalist of the Year

Charlotte Alden

Student Photojournalist of the Year

Isabella Falsetti

Student Publication of the Year

The Ubyssey